New Reader-Friendly Blog Format! (w Giveaways)

Hi y’all! I have been thinking about you and this blog a lot in the past few months. And I’ve been thinking most about how I could make this into a site that really benefited teachers, writers, librarians, and other folk who care about and work with kids. I’ve been keeping this blog for three and a half years, and I still believe in it, but I don’t think I’ve done much to generate real dialogue or provide real resources around these issues. And I would really like to. So I’ve decided to change things up here quite a bit.

Starting September, I’m planning to focus on one issue/month. I will do a post (or have a fabulous guest writer) about a topic. Then on a set schedule during the month, I will review books, interview an author who’s work deals with the given topic, and provide a list of resources for folks. And each month, I’ll give away one of the reviewed books to the person who comments the most during the month. I hope that this will generate some meaningful dialogue on these important topics and will make the site generally more useful for everyone. Let me know what you think!

September Topic: Mental Illness (to include an interview w the fabulous debut author, Rachel Wilson, and a giveaway of her novel Don’t Touch out in September)

October Topic: How Books Build Empathy Around Diversity (to include a giveaway of Congressman John Lewis’ graphic novel The March)

And the schedule will be:

  • First of the month: Post introducing the month’s topic
  • 1st wednesday: Book Review
  • 2nd wednesday: Author Interview
  • 3rd wednesday: Book Review
  • 4th wednesday: Book List for further reading
  • Last day of the month: List of Resources & Book Giveaway announced

I hope you all will stop by in September and will pass along the site to others who might find it useful! I for one, can’t wait to have Rachel here talking (metaphorically) about her new book and this important issue. And please let me know your thoughts about the new format and what topics you’d like to see covered here in the future!

Cheers!

About pamwatts

Writer, Reader, and Children's advocate
This entry was posted in Current Events and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to New Reader-Friendly Blog Format! (w Giveaways)

  1. Good idea. I was thinking today I hadn’t heard from you in awhile. 🙂

  2. kmquimby2014 says:

    I think this is a great plan, Pam, and look forward to reading more.

  3. Woo hoo! I like your new structure and look forward to each month’s topic. Please let me know if you’d like suggestions for the book lists.

  4. pamwatts says:

    Awesome! And you got it, Lyn!

What Do You Think?

